We were getting ready for the school run. It had frozen overnight so I had to spend ten minutes or so to defrost the car. Somehow my car has moisture on the inside so I have to spend time defrosting both the outside and the inside of the windows!

I love my car. It’s very pretty and hasn’t let me down (I’ve probably just jinxed this). However, there are two things that I don’t like about it. One is how it freezes on the inside and the other is that it doesn’t have a cup-holder. My daughter’s child seat was £25 and has TWO cup-holders and yet my (much more) expensive car doesn’t have one. Perhaps it’s because it’s a French car and they believe coffee should be served in a proper cup and enjoyed in a café beside the River Seine rather than on the move in a paper cup? Fair enough, but when you’re a working Mum and rushing to drop the kids off at nursery or school before starting your day a portable cup of coffee is a must!

car-seatOn one such morning I was in desperate need of a coffee. I bought one and then sat in my car pondering where the heck I was going to put the bucket of latte without it spilling. The only place was one (of the two) cup-holder’s in my daughter’s car seat. I jammed it in there and drove very slowly and carefully. One of the times I checked my rear-view mirror I noticed that the coffee cup had flipped out of the holder and turned upside down and was now sat in my daughter’s car seat!

Thankfully by the time I came to pick it up (with the delicacy of a bomb disposal unit) I managed to do so with just a small leak of coffee out of the little hole you sip from. It was a miracle.

Anyway, I’d defrosted the car and about to pile Amelie into it, along with her many school bags when I realised I couldn’t shut the driver’s door. The lock had slipped down and wouldn’t shut. Brilliant!

I’m already running late due to the double defrosting task and now we must walk to school. It’s a good 25-minute walk at Amelie’s pace. Poor Amelie had a very bad cough and almost coughed up a lung on the way and was beginning to look decidedly ‘peeky’ by the time we reached school. I thought she would probably be fine after she had settled down after the walk and had some water. So off I trekked back home again. Got home and was about to call a ‘man who can’ to fix my car when the school called me to say Amelie had “gone a funny colour” and wasn’t well.

So on with my coat and boots again and I set off to walk down the road for a third time. I’m now worried that the walk back home with Amelie will probably wipe her out. But as my car is broken there isn’t anything else I can do. I did think about riding her electric scooter to school so she could sit on it and ride back, but figured the battery probably wouldn’t last and I’d look truly ridiculous!

Thankfully the lovely school chef took pity on us and offered to drive us home again which we were both truly thankful for. But then I felt really bad as she managed to get her car stuck on our drive. We’ve all done it – totally misjudged a space and them messed up the manoeuvre. Bless her; she managed to drive right over the rock that props the gate open and then didn’t have enough room to swing round without hitting the patio. She really was stuck between a rock and a hard place! It quickly turned into a comedy moment that reminded me of the clip out of ‘Austin Powers’ when he tries to do a three-point turn. And all of this happened before 9.30am. On mornings like this I actually don’t need a portable cup of coffee, I need a portable cup of Prosecco!

Leave a Reply

